Jayadratha Suna Bags Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar 2018

Jayadratha Suna recites poem at Koraput Literary Festival on 25th March 2018

By Odisha Sory Bureau, Bhubaneswar, June 22, 2018:

Odia poet Jayadratha Suna has been selected for Yuva Puraskar 2018 by Sahitya Akademi, the national academy of letters. Today Sahitya Akademi announced the name of awardees in all recognised Indian languages including Odia.

Jayadratha, a native of Kalahandi, is going to receive the prestigious national literary award for his debut poetry collection Sosha (The Thirst). The book was published in 2017 by Doodly Process and Offset, Bhubaneswar.

This is his first ever award for literary creation, Jayadratha said to Odisha Story. However earlier he was being felicitated by Chetabani Sahitya Sansad for his poetry.

Jayadratha’s poetry possesses the voice of voiceless and marginalised people. He also writes the joy of oppressed and about the social disorder.

Odisha Story wishes him a bright future in literature.

Since 2011 the Yuva Puraskar is being awarded to young Indian authors of the age of 35 and below in all 24 Indian languages recognised by the Akademi.

Earlier Gayatribala Panda (2011), Srushthishree Naik (2012), Kshetrabasi Naik (2013), Narendra Kumar Bhoi (2014), Sujit Kumar Panda (2015), Jnanee Debashis Mishra (2016) and Suryasnata Tripathy (2017) have been received the award for Odia language.

Also read

Birendra Mohanty to Receive Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2018



About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: editor@odishastory.com