No Early Election in Odisha: Chief Electoral Officer

Bhubaneswar: Odisha’s Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar said it was unlikely for Odisha to see an early election as the final voters list for the General Elections would be published on January 4, 2019.

Speaking to the media here today, Kumar said,

The draft voter list will be prepared from September 1, 2018 and the final voter list will be published on January 4, 2019. Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) will be used for the first time in Odisha along with the EVMs (Electronic Voting Machines).

Kumar’s statement has given a feeler that early general elections was not a probability before 2019.

However last week there was a speculation of early election in Odisha as One lakh EVMs being shifted from UP to Odisha. Two senior officers being posted in office of Chief Electoral Officer in view of “urgency of shifting of the EVMs”.



About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: