Ganeswar Behera Replaces Srikant Jena as PCC Poll Manifesto Panel Head

Bhubaneswar: Ahead of the 2019 polls, former Union Minister Srikant Jena was dropped from the post of chairman of the Election Manifesto Committee of the Odisha Congress on Thursday.

Jena was replaced in this post by Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) vice-president Ganeswar Behera. Besides, Bismaya Mahapatra was appointed as the convenor of the panel.

Besides, Leader of Opposition in the State Assembly Narasingha Mishra, former PCC president Prasad Harichandan and six others were appointed as members of the committee, said a Press release issued by All India Congress Committee (AICC) general secretary Ashok Gehlot.

OPCC president Niranjan Patnaik took to Twitter to congratulate the new members of the committee.

Jena’s ouster, obviously at the instance of Niranjan Patnaik, was attributed to his (Jena’s) publicly-aired view that Dalits must be given a dominant share in the party tickets for contesting elections.


About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: