Centre Appoints New Chief Information Commissioner

New Delhi: The Government of India has appointed Sudhir Bhargav as the new Chief Information Commissioner (CIC) of the Central Information Commission. Along with him four new Information Commissioners are also appointed. Previously the Commission was functioning with only three members including the Chief IC though the sanctioned strength is 11 in number.

The President of India Shri Ram Nath Kovind has approved his appointment as CIC and of former IFS officer Yashwardhan Kumar Sinha, former IRS officer Vanaja N Sarna, former IAS Neeraj Kumar Gupta and former Law Secretary Suresh Chandra as Information Commissioners in the Central Information Commission.

Sinha is a 1981-batch Indian Foreign Service officer who was the High Commissioner of India in the United Kingdom.

An alumnus of St Michael’s High School in Patna and St Stephen’s College in Delhi, Sinha had served a number of important postings in the Ministry of External Affairs including the crucial Pakistan-Afghanistan-Iran Division, which he headed for four years as Additional Secretary.

The only woman in the CIC will be Sarna, a 1980-batch Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Excise) officer, who was the Chief of Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC).

Neeraj Kumar Gupta, a 1982-batch IAS officer, was Secretary in the Department of Investment and Public Asset Management.

Chandra, an Indian Legal Service officer, retired as Union law secretary this year and was also private secretary to the then Law Minister Arun Jaitley between 2002 and 2004.


About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: editor@odishastory.com