Owing to Sabarimala Issue, Kerela MLA’s House Bombarded

Tiruvanthapuram: After the entry of two women below 50 years of age in the Sabarimala Tempe in the new year eve, late in night yesterday, at around 9:50 pm,  some unidentified assailants threw crude bombs at the home of CPM’s Thalassery MLA AN Shamseer, police said. A case was registered at the New Mahe Police Station under Sections 3 and 5 of the Explosive Substances Act and an investigation is underway, a police official said. The CPM leader was not present at his home when the incident occurred.

An official at the Thalassery police station confirmed three similar attacks Friday night at the homes of influential political leaders in their station jurisdiction. Former CPM district secretary P Sasi’s home near the district court was attacked with crude bombs around 11 pm. the window-panes of the house shattered in the incident. The CPM leader’s wife and son were present at the time. Around 11:30 pm, the Thalassery ancestral home of BJP Rajya Sabha MP V Muraleedharan was hit with crude bombs in what is being seen as a retaliatory attack. Thalassery BJP Mandalam president Sumesh’s house was also bombed. The house of RSS leader Chandrasekharan was also targeted with country-made bombs. Cases have not yet been registered in each of these incidents, the official said.

The complaints do not mention any specific persons behind the violence, police said, but it’s generally understood that the hands of workers of either parties or criminal gangs affiliated to them are behind the attack. Retaliatory attacks are a familiar occurrence in Kannur, which has become infamous in the last three decades for the string of political murders between the Left and Right groups. Thalassery, which falls on the southern coastal border of Kannur district, is known to be a stronghold of the ruling CPM but has in recent times, developed certain pockets falling under the sway of the RSS.


About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: editor@odishastory.com