Odisha Wins U-21 Men’s Hockey Championship in KIYG 2019

Bhubaneswar/Mumbai: Odisha has won the U-21 Men’s Hockey Championship in second Khelo India Youth Games 2019 against Haryana. The Finals was held at Mahindra Hockey Stadium at Mumbai today.

The scores were tied at 2-2 after the end of regulation time which resulted in the Penalty Shootout where Ashis Topno, Gregory Xess, Shilanand Lakra and Dipsan Tirkey converted for Odisha while only Kuldeep and Yashdeep Siwach could score for Haryana.

Earlier in regulation time, it was Odisha who took a 2-0 lead after 23 minutes as Dipsan Tirkey (11th) and Ashis Topno (23rd) scored for them. However, Haryana made a comeback into the match through a brace scored by skipper Mandeep Mor (29th, 57th).

Thus Odisha defeated Haryana by 4-2 in the penalty shoot out of the Final match becoming the champions for this year.


About the Author

Upasana Bidika
Upasana Bidika has completed her Master Degree in Law from KIIT School of Law. However she has carved a niche for herself as a journalist. She can be contacted at upasna.bidika@gmail.com