Notice for Appointment of 2 New Judges of SC is Out

Justice Khanna and Dinesh Maheshwari

New Delhi: Justice Maheshwari, Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court, and Justice Sanjiv Khanna, Judge of Delhi High Court have been appointed as Supreme Court Judges.

President Ram Nath Kovind yesterday declared this by issuing a notification which said, “”President is pleased to appoint Justice Sanjiv Khanna, Judge of Delhi High Court, to be the judge of the Supreme Court of India with effect from the date he assumes charge” and a similar notification has been isssued for the appointment of Justice Maheshwari.

The actual sanctioned strength of Supreme Court Judges is 31 and after addition of these two new judges it has reached to 28.

The collegium of the Apex Court has five members which includes Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi along with four senior-most Judges namely Justice A.K. Sikri, Justice S.A. Bobde, Justice N.V. Ramana and Justice Arun Mishra.

Appointment of Supreme Court Judges:-

Article 124 (2) of the Constitution says that Every Judge of the Supreme Court shall be appointed by the President by warrent under his hand and seal after consultation with such of the Judges of the Supreme Court and of the High Courts in the States as the President may deem necessary for the purpose.

Qualification for appointment of Supreme Court Judges:

Article 124 (3) of the Constitution prescribes that for appointment as a judge of the Supreme Court a person must be

(a) a citizen of India,

(b) has been a judge of any High Court for at least 5 years, or

(c) has been an advocate in a High Court for 10 years or is in the opinion of the President a distinguished jurist.

Tenure of the SC Judges

There is no fixed tenure of service for a judge. He continues in service till the completion of 65th year of age.


About the Author

Upasana Bidika
Upasana Bidika has completed her Master Degree in Law from KIIT School of Law. However she has carved a niche for herself as a journalist. She can be contacted at