CM Flags Off New AC Buses to Various Parts of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik flagged off 23 new OSRTC AC buses today which will run from the state capital to various parts of the State. The service is called Rajdhani Express Bus service.

With these the passengers can avail comfortable journey with advanced facilities and features in the buses during the summer season which is nearing fast. The buses will ply to Phulbani, Rourkela, Bhawanipatna, Bhanjanagar, Rajgangpur via Sundergarh, Raj Khariar via Balangir, Gorumahisani via Karanjia and Burla via Sambalpur from Bhubaneswar.

Another four new Volvo buses were introduced in the service during the programmed by OSRTC (Odisha State Road Transport Corporation).

In total 27 number of buses were purchased with a budget of Rs 16 crore for providing such facility. The buses have free WiFi, mobile charging, CCTV camera and vehicle tracking system as well as drinking water facility. Tickets can be booked online for the journey on the buses.

Currently, total 429 buses from the OSRTC are plying in all 30 districts. Besides, another 43 buses are in the service to various cities of neighbouring States — Andhra, West Bengal, Jharkhand and Madhya Pradesh — from Odisha.

Meanwhile, the OSRTC will build five new bus stands in Jeypore, Balangir, Angul, Bamara and Odagaon. Besides, 25 existing bus stands will be renovated and 50 bus stand projects on the cards in blocks.


About the Author

Upasana Bidika
Upasana Bidika has completed her Master Degree in Law from KIIT School of Law. However she has carved a niche for herself as a journalist. She can be contacted at