Swearing Ceremony of 2 New Supreme Court Judges

New Delhi: Justice Dinesh Maheshwari and Justice Sanjiv Khanna sworned-in as judges of the Supreme Court today. They were administered the oath by Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi.With their swearing in, the Court now has 28 judges against its sanctioned strength of 31.

Before being the Apex Court Judge, Justice Maheshwari was the Chief Justice of the Karnataka High Court and Justice Khanna was a judge in the Delhi High Court.

President Ram Nath Kovind had appointed them as Supreme Court judges on day before yesterday after the government accepted the top court collegium’s recommendation on their elevation.

The collegium’s decision of January 10 had triggered a controversy as it had revoked its December 12, 2018, decision to recommend the elevation of Rajasthan High Court Chief Justice Pradeep Nandrajog and Delhi High Court Chief Justice Rajendra Menon to the Supreme Court.

Justice Khanna became the Supreme Court Judge leaving behind three senior-most judges of Delhi High Court and he stood at number 33 of the all India seniority of the High Court judges.

Oath Affirmation of Suprme Court Judges

As Per Article 124 and third Schedule of the Constitution, the Chief Justice (or a Judge) of the Supreme Court of India is required to make and subscribe in the presence of the president an oath or affirmation that he/she

will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of India as by law established, that I will uphold the sovereignty and integrity of India, that I will duly and faithfully and to the best of my ability, knowledge and judgement perform the duties of my office without fear or favour, affection or ill-will and that I will uphold the Constitution and the laws.


About the Author

Upasana Bidika
Upasana Bidika has completed her Master Degree in Law from KIIT School of Law. However she has carved a niche for herself as a journalist. She can be contacted at upasna.bidika@gmail.com