Separate Division for Ladakh: Says J & K Govt Ahead of Polls

Bhubaneswar/Srinagar: The Jammu and Kashmir government has approved the carving of a separate division for the state. This approval came keeping in view the upcoming general elctions of 2019-2020. With the creation of the Ladakh division, J&K now has three administrative and revenue divisions – Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh.

This was a long-standing demand of the region’s two districts of Leh and Kargil. The posts of Divisional Commissioner (Ladakh) and Inspector General of Police (Ladakh) have also been approved. The new division will be headquartered in Leh.

At present, the region is part of the Kashmir division and is administratively managed through the Leh and Kargil Autonomous Hill Councils.


About the Author

Upasana Bidika
Upasana Bidika has completed her Master Degree in Law from KIIT School of Law. However she has carved a niche for herself as a journalist. She can be contacted at