March 2019

Odisha: Parallel Campaign By Modi and Mayawati On April 2

Bhubaneswar: Odisha will witness poll campaign by Narendra Modi and Mayawati simultaneously on April 2 in Odisha. While the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati will address a public rally at Baramunda Ground in Bhubaneswar, the prime minister Modi is scheduled to address a public meeting organised by Bharatiya Janata Paty (BJP) at Bhawanipatna, the […]

BJD Names Candidates For 9 Assembly Constituencies

Bhubaneswar: The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) fielded named candidates for 9 assembly constituencies as it released its 6th list for the ensuing elections. BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today evening announced candidates for 9 assembly seats. In its first list of candidates, the party had announced 9 names for Lok Sabha and 54 […]

Challenge Accepted: Niranjan To Fight From Ghasipura

Kendujhar: Minister and the Ghasipura Assembly candidate of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Badri Narayan Patra will face a tough fight in ensuing elections, as Odisha Congress chief Niranjan Patnaik has reportedly accepted his challenge to contest from Ghasipura. Last week Badri had dared Niranjan Patnaik to contest from Ghasipura. Badri said that those campaigning against him own […]

BJD Expels 3 Leaders

Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal (BJD) supremo Naveen Patnaik today expelled three leaders from the party for anti-party activities ahead of elections in Odisha. In a press release, the party wrote, BJD president Naveen Patnaik today expelled Siba Prasad Gouda and K Ramkrishna from Gunupur constituency in Rayagada. Besides, Kanhu Singh from Banki constituency in Cuttack district […]

BJP Candidate Booked For Misbehaving Govt Officers

Bhubaneswar: BJP’s Hinjili candidate and senior lawyer Pitambar Acharya landed in a fresh trouble ahead of the 2019 elections as a case has been slapped on him for allegedly misbehaving with on-duty officials. Based on a complaint by magistrate on election duty, the case number 102/19 was registered against Pitambar under sections 353, 294, 102, […]

Bargarh: 9 Zilla Parishad Members of BJP Resign

Bargarh: Following Subash Chauhan, 9 Zilla Parishad members of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have resigned from the party allegedly over wrong candidate selection. Subash Chauhan, who had unsuccessfully contested the Bargarh LS seat in 2014 elections, had polled over 3, 72, 000 votes in 2014- the highest polled by any saffron party leaders in Odisha- […]

BJD Names Candidates For 18 Assembly Constituencies

Bhubaneswar: The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) fielded named candidates for 18 assembly constituencies as it released its 5th list for the ensuing elections. BJD president and Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today announced candidates for 18 assembly seats. In its first list of candidates, the party had announced 9 names for Lok Sabha and 54 […]

Odisha: Congress Announces Candidates For 7 MP And 20 MLA Seats

Bhubaneswar: The Congress Central Election Committee announced the fourth list of candidates for assembly elections in Odisha. AICC announced 20 names for assembly constituency. The committee also announced 7 names from Odisha for the ensuing elections to the Lok Sabha. Here is the list of candidates from Odisha announced by Congress Central Election Committee. Lok Sabha MP […]

Poetry is a pilgrimage: Dev Mishra

This week Odisha Story was in conversation with a young wordsmith whose works represent the versatile generation next of Indian English Writing. A young PhD scholar at NISER, Odisha, Debasish Mishra, has bagged the Bharat Award for Literature in 2019, the Reuel International Best Upcoming Poet Prize in 2017 and was given an Honourable mention […]

Odia IPS Lalit Das Appointed Special Police Observer of Varanasi

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission of India today appointed Odisha-cadre IPS officer Lalit Das as the Special Central Police Observer of Varanasi. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is contesting from the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat in the upcoming elections. Das has been appointed for this post between March 29 and April 18 to supervise security-related issues in the constituency, during the ensuing […]