Odisha To Vote In 4 Phases Starting April 11, Counting on May 23

Bhubaneswar: Assembly elections along with the Lok Sabha elections in the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) ruled Odisha will be conducted between April 11 and April 29, the Election Commission announced today in New Delhi. Odisha has 147 assembly constituencies that will go to polls in four phases starting April 11 and will be held along with the Lok Sabha elections.

Counting of votes will also be held on May 23. The term for Odisha Assembly ends on June 11. Odisha’s last assembly elections were held in April 2014 when Naveen Patnaik’s BJD won the polls.

In the 2014 state elections, BJD formed the government with a majority of 117 seats while Congress was in the Opposition after it won 16 seats.

Naveen Patnaik formed the government after winning 43 per cent of the votes. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had won 10 seats as compared to its previous tally of 6 seats in the state elections before 2014.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has been heading the government in Odisha since 2000 when he resigned as a Union minister to form the government in the state. Naveen Patnaik recently celebrated 19 years in office as the chief minister of Odisha.

Naveen Patnaik is a four-time chief minister who is seeking re-election in the 2019 Odisha assembly election.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Sunday announced that the BJD would reserve 33 per cent seats for women in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.


About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: editor@odishastory.com