BJP’s Pramod Sawant Sworn-in As New Goa CM

Panaji: BJP MLA Pramod Sawant was sworn-in as the new Chief Minister of Goa late last night. He succeeds Manohar Parrikar, who passed away two days back following a prolonged illness.

Goa Governor Mridula Sinha administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 46-year-old Sawant. He represents Sankhalim constituency in Goa Assembly.  The Governor also administered the oath to 11 other ministers, including those from BJP’s allies Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and the Goa Forward Party (GFP).

All the ministers who were part of erstwhile Manohar Parrikar-led Cabinet were sworn in by the Governor. Before taking oath as the CM, Mr Sawant resigned from the post of Speaker of Goa Legislative Assembly.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has extended his best wishes to the new Chief Minister of Goa Pramod Sawant and his team.


About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: