Prakash Mishra Joins BJP

Bhubaneswar: Former Odisha DGP Prakash Mishra joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) here today. BJP may field Mishra from Cuttack Lok Sabha seat in the upcoming polls.

Mishra joined the saffron party in presence of union minister Dharmendra Pradhan, senior leader Biswa Bhushan Harichandan, Damodar Rout, Samir Dey and other senior party leaders at party’s state head office today afternoon.

Former Congress MLA Debi Prasanna and ex-BJD MLA Brundaban Majhi joined BJP. More than 100 workers from other political parties from Baranga area also joined BJP.

The retired IPS officer is the second high-profile former bureaucrat to embrace the BJP after Aparajita Sarangi, whom the party has fielded from Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat.

The 1977 batch Odisha cadre IPS officer Mishra’s relationship with the ruling BJD, however, has been tumultuous. The state government refused to relieve Mishra for central deputation after Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh sought him for the post of special secretary in MHA. He was instead shunned to a relatively inconsequential post of CMD of the Odisha State Road Transport Corporation.

The Odisha government also slapped a vigilance case on him, weeks ahead of the selection of CBI chief, spoiling his his chances of getting the top post, in April 2015. The Orissa High Court, however, later quashed the case against Mishra, who was then the CRPF DG.



About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: