Bargarh: 9 Zilla Parishad Members of BJP Resign

Bargarh: Following Subash Chauhan, 9 Zilla Parishad members of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have resigned from the party allegedly over wrong candidate selection.

Subash Chauhan, who had unsuccessfully contested the Bargarh LS seat in 2014 elections, had polled over 3, 72, 000 votes in 2014- the highest polled by any saffron party leaders in Odisha- but he lost the battle to BJD’s Prabas Singh by around 11, 000 votes, which is also the narrowest margin by which a BJP candidate lost during the polls in the State. Later, during the Panchayat polls in 2017, the BJP won 25 of the 34 Zilla Parishads in Bargarh district and it was then believed that Chauhan would certainly won from the parliamentary constituency.

However the party didn’t field Chouhan this time for the ensuing elections following which he resigned from BJP and joined Biju Janata Dal (BJD). BJP’s Bargarh district vice president Prasant Kumar Majhi has also resigned from the party.

Today 9 BJP Zilla Parishad members have resigned and are likely to join the BJD very soon. Their joining will increase BJD’s strength to 18 in the 34-member Zilla Parishad and the present ZP chairperson may have to resign paving the way for the BJD to take over.


About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: