Odisha: 72% Polling in Second Phase

Bhubaneswar: The just concluded second phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Odisha recorded a 72 per cent voter turnout, an official said today.

Elections were held on Thursday for the Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska Lok Sabha seats, and 35 Assembly seats under these parliamentary constituencies.

According to the office of the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) here, the Bargarh constituency recorded 77.73 per cent voter turnout, while Bolangir registered 74.33 per cent. The voter turnout in the Sundargarh and Kandhamal Lok Sabha constituencies were 71.52 per cent and 69.24 per cent, respectively.

The Aska Lok Sabha constituency at 65.89 per cent recorded the lowest turnout among the five parliamentary seats.

The electors have sealed the fate of 279 candidates, who include 35 for the Lok Sabha seats and 244 for the state Assembly.


About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: editor@odishastory.com