Odisha: BJD Confident Of Winning 15 MP And 105 MLA Seats

Bhubaneswar: As the last phase voting for the general elections ended yesterday,  predictions surfaced for both Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies. National and regional exit poll surveys are indicating Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) of making inroads into Odisha with more than 10 MP and More than 30 MLA seats. Ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) will get 85-95 seats in Odisha assembly, exit poll predictions says.

However, BJD has made an independent post-poll survey to know its win-ability in the state. According to the survey made by the regional party, it will win 15 Lok Sabha seats out of 21. The survey also indicates that BJP will win only one seat while BJD is unsure about the result of rest 5 parliamentary constituencies.

Similarly, BJD is confident of winning more than 105 seats in the state assembly. The poll survey report says, out of 147 Assembly seats BJD will get 105 and BJP will win 10 seats. Congress and other parties will get 8 seats, while the survey is unsure about 23 seats. Elections for Patkura assembly seat yet to bee held.

In 2014 elections, BJD has acquired 117 seats, while BJP and Congress has 10 and 16 seats respectively.


About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: editor@odishastory.com