Anti-BJD Votes Have Gone To BJP: Niranjan

Bhubaneswar: In Odisha most of the anti-BJD government votes have gone in favour of BJP, said Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president Niranjan Patnaik.

Acording to reports, Patnaik is hopeful of winning more seats than its 2014 election show.

Patnaik who this time contested from two assembly segments – Ghasipura in Kenojhar district and Bhandaripokhari in Badrak district – claimed that he will win from the second seat.

The state’s main opposition party has 16 seats out of 147 in Odisha assembly. The party has not won a single parliamentary seat in Odisha. However OPCC vice-president Arya Kumar Gyanendra said that Congress will get around 30 seats in the Assembly.

Gyanendra said that his party will play a key role in government formation in the state as neither the BJD nor the BJP will get required numbers after declaration of results on May 23.


About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: