Newly-elected Odisha MLAs Take Oath

Bhubaneswar: A day after Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and 20 ministers were sworn-in, the newly elected legislators on took oath as members of Odisha Legislative Assembly today.

The chief minister, who has been elected from Hinjili and Bijepur constituencies, was the first to be sworn in as a member of the 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly.

Pro-tem Speaker Amar Prasad Satpathy administered the oath to Patnaik. Following Patnaik, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Kesari Arukha and other members took the oath during the special session. The Pro-tem Speaker administered the oath to as many as 106 newly elected members of the Assembly during the day.

The swearing-in of new MLAs will continue on Friday as a total of 146 newly elected legislators have to be administered oath. Of the new MLAs, 112 are from BJD, 23 from BJP, nine from Congress, one from CPM and an Independent.

While Odisha Assembly has 147 seats, polling in Patkura constituency was postponed twice following the death of a candidate and then due to Cyclone Fani.


About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: