Odisha Education Award: Hi-Tech Medical College bags award as Best Medical College

Bhubaneswar: In Odisha Education Award 2019, Hi-Tech Medical College bagged the award for the Best Medical College in Odisha, as chosen by the eminent jury members. Known for its qualitative teaching and high standards of training in clinical care, diagnosis and field practices, Hi-Tech Medical College has made noteworthy contributions in the field of medical education in the state and is credited as being the first private medical college of eastern India. The award was received by Dr. Rakesh Panigrahi, Director of Hi-Tech Medical College.

Organised by the leading media house of the state–Odia Media Private Limited–Odisha Education Award 2019, was held on the evening of 8th August at Jayadev Bhavan. Chancellor of ICFAI University, former Ambassador of India to Turkmenistan, former Chancellor of KIIT University and retired Professor of Jawaharlal Nehru University – Prof. Ram Pal Kaushik and Odisha’s Higher Education and Agriculture Minister, poet and scholar – Dr. Arun Kumar Sahoo were present as the esteemed guests for the event.

Director of Odia Media, Sri Subhransu Panda presided over the award ceremony, where 17 educational institutes were awarded under various categories. During the event, the respected jury members namely, Prof. Kumar Bar Das (Former Vice Chancellor, FM University), Prof. Prabir Kumar Pattnaik (Prof. at SOA National University of Law), Sri Sarat Kumar Dash (Former Principal Commissioner, Income Tax) and Dr. Artatran Mishra (Principal, Kendriya Vidyalaya-1, Bhubaneswar) were also felicitated.

Apart from Hi-Tech Medical College, the other awardees were – KISS University for Best University in Odisha, SAI International School for Best International School in Odisha,Apti Plus for Best Civil Service Coaching Institute in Odisha, St. Xavier International School for Best CBSE School in Odisha, Mahendra’s For Best Banking Coaching Institute in Odisha, Raajdhani Engineering College for Best Engineering College in Odisha, Tetrahedron Junior College for Best Higher Secondary School in Odisha, Subas Academy for Best Undergraduate College Under Utkal University, Divine Institute of Engineering & Technology for Best Polytechnic College in Odisha, Aakash Institute for Best Medical Coaching Institute in Odisha, Biju Patnaik Institute of IT & Management for Best Management College in Odisha,  National Institute of Fire & Safety(NIFS) for Best Fire Safety Institute in Odisha, Vajirao IAS Academy for Best IAS Institute In Odisha, Dhenkanal Academy for Best Emerging College in Odisha, Creative Techno College for Best Professional College in Odisha and Kutie Kids for Best Pre-School in Odisha.

“Education plays the most vital role in shaping our future citizens, and thus to recognise and reward the institutions who have contributed significantly in this field is the primary objective of this award,” informed Sri Panda of Odia Media. As many as 160 nominations were received for the awards under various categories, out of which only one in each was picked as the best. Before the formal beginning of proceedings, Satya–Satyabrat and Premkumar–Dipti duos offered some comic dose to the audience. Agnivesh Mahapatra and Gayatri Mavuru compered the award ceremony. Girish Ranjan, Rajani Kanta Tarai, Ashis Kumar Rath, Pradyumna Mohapatra, Milan Pradhan, Jitendra Jena, Subhalaxmi Mohanty and Biren Sahoo among others were present and contributed to the success of this event.



About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: editor@odishastory.com