66th National Film Awards 2019 Winner List

New Delhi: The winners of the 66th National Film Awards have been announced on Friday afternoon by the chairman of the jury. The winners are decided by an independent jury consisting of eminent filmmakers and film personalities, and the announcement is made in April every year. However, this year, the announcement was pushed due to the Lok Sabha polls. The awards are usually presented at an event in May.
Here’s the complete list of awards:
The Best Director award went to Aditya Dhar for Uri while Gujarati film Hellaro won for Best Film.
Keerthy Suresh won the award for Best Actress for Mahanati. The Best Actor award was shared by Ayushmann Khurrana and Vicky Kaushal for Andhadhunand Uri respectively.
Baaram won the award for Best Tamil film, Sudani from Nigeria for Best Malayalam film, Mahanati for Best Telugu film and Nathicharami for Best Kannada film. The Best Konkani Film award was given to Amori.
Sudani from Nigeria revolves around a footballer from Nigeria who comes to Kerala for a league match. While the football player is played by young Nigerian actor Samuel Abiola Robinson, Kerala state award winner Soubin Shahir plays the role of Majeed, the football team manager.
Directed by Nag Ashwin, Mahanati is a bilingual biographical period film on yesteryear actor Savithri. Keerthi Suresh plays the role of Savithri. The movie also stars Dulquer Salman, Samantha Akkineni, Naga Chaitanya, Vijay Deverakonda, Shalini Pandey, Prakash Raj and Mohan Babu. Mahanati also won the award for Best Costume Designer.
The 90-minute feature film, Baaram (The Burden), is based on thalaikoothal, a practice of killing the elderly in some parts of Tamil Nadu. It is directed by Mumbai-based filmmaker Priya Krishnaswamy.
Nathicharami revolves around a widow who struggles with her growing sexual needs, and her desire to remain faithful to the memories of her late husband. Sruthi Hariharan plays the lead role.
The Best Female Playback Singer award was given to Bindhumalini for ‘Maayavi Manave’ from Nathicharami. The film also picked up awards for Best Editing and Best Lyrics.
Chi La Sow by Rahul Ravindran won the award for Best Original Screenplay.
Kannada film Sarkari. Hi. Pra. Shaale Kasaragodu won the award for Best Children’s Film. It is based on how a group of students, studying in a Kannada-medium school in a village in Kerala, come together when the government officials try to shut it down.
The Best Production Design award went to Malayalam film Kammara Sambhavam, and the Best Makeup Artist award was given to Telugu film Awe.
A special mention was given by the jury to Sruthi Hariharan for Nathicharami, Joju George for Joseph and Savithri Balussery for Sudani From Nigeria.
Kannada film KGF starring Yash picked up the award for Best Action.
MJ Radhakrishnan won the Best Cinematography for Malayalam film Olu.
The Nargis Dutt Award was given to Kannada film Ondalla Eradalla. The film, starring Rohith Pandavpura as the young protagonist, revolves around a seven-year-old boy who loses his pet cow, Banu. He goes in search of her and meets a motley crew of characters in a film that’s ultimately about childhood and innocence.