Legislative Assembly

Triple Talaq Bill Tabled in Upper House

New Delhi: Today at 2 pm the The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2018 will be tabled in the Rajya Sabha, which got its accent two times from the Lower House. By February of this year, when the winner session will be there, if the bill will not get approval from the […]

All Set by LS to Ban Tripple Talaq

New Delhi: The Lok Sabha, today, will take up The Muslim Women (Protection of Rights on Marriage) Bill, 2018 for consideration and passing it. The Bill will be moved by Union Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad. The main aim of this bill is to protect the rights of married Muslim women and prohibiting arbitrary divorce […]

Congress Rising: BJP Castles Fall Down

New Delhi: Though counting for assembly elections in five  states are yet to be completed officially, the trends are clearly indicating a major setback for BJP. The counting in Rajasthan, Chhatishgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Telengana and Manipur were completed. Congress played well and gained complete majority in BJP-led states like Rajasthan, and Chhatishgarh. In MP also […]

Anubhav Patnaik Speaks at PRS Conference 2018

New Delhi: Young Odia legislator Anubhav Patnaik joined PRS Conference 2018 as a panelist here. He spoke on ‘Building Effective Legislature’ yesterday afternoon. Speaking at the conference, Patnaik stressed on his difficulties to meet expectations of constituents as a first time MLA. He spoke about his initiatives that helped him balance the difficulties with his constitutional mandate. The […]

Congress MLA Krushna Sagaria to Quit Odisha Assembly

Bhubaneswar: Congress MLA Krushna Chandra Sagaria has decided to resign from Odisha Legislative Assembly citing failure to provide justice to Kunduli gang rape victim. The Koraput MLA Sagaria called a press conference today to announce his decision. He will hand over his resignation to the Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat in November first week. Addressing the media […]

Sorry State of Odia Language

By Subhransu Panda: Forget about public, even the Government workforce is not aware of Odisha Official Language Act Today I had visited newly opened Odisha Crafts Museum (Kala Bhoomi) in my city Bhubaneswar. For the first time, I had visited this place more than a month back with my family. No doubt it’s in the list of […]

Rs 370 cr Scam in Odisha Cooperative Sector

By Odisha Story Bureau, Bhubaneswar: Odisha government finally agreed that there has been massive scam of about Rs 370 crore in the cooperative sector involving cooperative banks and agencies. The state cooperation Minister Surya Narayan Patro admitted this in a written reply to BJP member Dilip Ray in the Assembly on 29th March 2018. According to audit reports the financial irregularities to the tune of […]