Union Cabinet approves strategic disinvestment of 100%

New Delhi: The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs chaired by the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi has given ‘in principle’ approval for strategic disinvestment of 100% Government of India’s shares in DCIL to consortium of four ports namely, Vishakhapatnam Port Trust, Paradeep Port Trust, Jawahar Lal Nehru Port Trust and Kandla Port Trust. Presently the Government […]

Read More

Bhartruhari Mahtab First Odia to Receive Best Parliamentarian Award

Bhubaneswar: Senior Biju Janata Dal (BJD) leader and Cuttack MP Bhartruhari Mahtab received ‘Best Parliamentarian Award’ for 2017 from President of India Ram Nath Kovind in a special event held yesterday (Aug 1) at the Central Hall of Parliament. Mahtab is the first Odia Parliamentarian to receive such prestigious honour. The President presented the Outstanding Parliamentarian Awards to […]

Seven New RS Members Including Sonal Mansingh and Raghunath Mohapatra Take Oath

New Delhi: Odisha’s classical dancer Sonal Mansingh and sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra took oath as Rajya Sabha member today. Along with them, Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh ideologue Rakesh Sinha, former BJP lawmaker Ram Shakal took affirmation of allegiance to the Constitution on the opening day of the Monsoon Session of Parliament today. Last week President of India […]

Baijayant Panda Quits BJD

Odisha Story Bureau, Bhubaneswar, May 28, 2018: MP Baijayant Panda, an articulate and prominent face of the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) in Odisha, quits the party amidst growing rift with CM Naveen Patnaik. Known as Jay Panda, he is a member of the lower house from Kendrapada Lok Sabha Constituency that was once late Biju Patnaik‘s […]

After Tripura Victory BJP Eyes East and South

By Odisha Story Bureau, Bhubaneswar: BJP has 15 CMs including presence in 19 states After wining 15 states independently no Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is preparing itself to take over in eastern and southern states. Odisha, West Bengal and Kerala are their most challenging targets. With the massive victory by the BJP in north-esat, especially in Tripura, the […]

Soumya, Achyuta, Prasanta Files Nomination for RS

By Odisha Story Bureau, Bhubaneswar: Newly joined BJD leaders Soumya Ranjan Patnaik and Achyuta Samanta flied their nomination for Rajya Sabha today. Senior BJD leader Prasanta Nanda too filed his nomination for the same. CM and party supremo Naveen Patnaik was also present during nomination process. BJD Chief and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik declared three […]

Displeasure in Party over BJD’s Rajya Sabha Choice

By Odisha Story Bureau, Bhubaneswar: Biju Janata Dal leader and former Chairperson of the State Commission for Women (SCW) in Odisha Jyoti Panigrahi has expresses unhappiness over Rajya Sabha ticket distributionin BJD. Talking to a local news channel Jyoti said, I am disappointed as I was an aspirant for the Upper House. I was an educationist when Biju […]

BJP-TDP Breakup in Andhra Pradesh

By Odisha Story Bureau, Bhubaneswar: The honeymoon between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is over both in Parliament and Andhra Pradesh assembly. As TDP decided pulling out its support from the BJP led NDA government in parliament, today BJP pulled out its support from the TDP led Andhra government. Two of BJP ministers, Dr […]