Newly-elected Odisha MLAs Take Oath

Bhubaneswar: A day after Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and 20 ministers were sworn-in, the newly elected legislators on took oath as members of Odisha Legislative Assembly today. The chief minister, who has been elected from Hinjili and Bijepur constituencies, was the first to be sworn in as a member of the 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly. Pro-tem […]

BJD Announces 9 MLA Candidates In Second List

Bhubaneswar: Biju janata Dal (BJD) president announced the second list of candidates for the ensuing elections today evening. There are 9 names for assembly constituencies in the second list. In its first list on candidates the party had announced 9 names for Lok Sabha and 54 names for assembly constituencies on 18th March. There are […]

Mizoram: Congress Losses With 3 Votes

Aizawl: Congress candidate lost seat only with 3 votes in Tuivawl assembly constituency in Mizoram. According to Election Commission of India, in Tuivawl constituency Mizo National Front (MNF) leader Lalchhandama Ralte won with 5207 votes. However his close competitor Congress candidate R. L. Pianmawia got 5204 votes. In all 40 constituencies in Mozoram the vote differences […]

Congress MLA Krushna Sagaria to Quit Odisha Assembly

Bhubaneswar: Congress MLA Krushna Chandra Sagaria has decided to resign from Odisha Legislative Assembly citing failure to provide justice to Kunduli gang rape victim. The Koraput MLA Sagaria called a press conference today to announce his decision. He will hand over his resignation to the Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat in November first week. Addressing the media […]

Khandapada: Congress Can Resurge in 2019

By Subhransu Panda, Bhubaneswar: Someone may call me mad reading the title of this write-up. It’s obvious. After going through this, you may or may not withstand my observation. But you can’t ignore the idea. At the time, when congress biggies in Odisha are leaving the party one after another, I can see hope for […]

Odia University: No Odia Prof in Existing Versities

By Odisha Story Bureau, Bhubaneswar: RD and GM Universities have no Faculty Members Odisha Government has taken numerous major moves to strengthen Odia language and facilitate Odia education. Government has decided to set up dedicated Odia University for the better language education. But it’s laughable that the same government has failed to appoint Odia professors […]

Union Minister Plots Against Medical College: Pratap Jena

By Odisha Story Bureau, Bhubaneswar: Health and Family Welfare minister Pratap Jena blamed political influence over new medical colleges in Odisha. Though he didn’t utter any name, he hinted ill intention of an union minister trying to stop new medical colleges in Bolangir and Balasore. He said, the name of the politicians would be revealed […]

Bijepur MLA Takes Oath

By Odisha Story Bureau, Bhubaneswar: The recently elected legislator Rita Sahu from Bijepur constituency took oath as a member of the Odisha Legislative Assembly (OLA) today. She won the much hyped by-poll for the Bijepur seat held on 24th February 2018 following the death of Congress MLA Subal Sahu in August 2017. She was administered the oath […]

Dana Majhi Case: Opposition Demands House Committee Probe

By Odisha Story Bureau, Bhubaneswar: A month since has been passed since Dana Majhi walked 10 km with his wife’s body on his shoulder in Kalahandi district. Today Odisha Assembly witnessed uproarious scenes with opposition Congress and BJP demanding a House Committee probe into the incident. During Zero hour Congress Chief Whip Tara Prasad Bahinipati […]