BJP Candidate Booked For Misbehaving Govt Officers

Bhubaneswar: BJP’s Hinjili candidate and senior lawyer Pitambar Acharya landed in a fresh trouble ahead of the 2019 elections as a case has been slapped on him for allegedly misbehaving with on-duty officials. Based on a complaint by magistrate on election duty, the case number 102/19 was registered against Pitambar under sections 353, 294, 102, […]

Bargarh: 9 Zilla Parishad Members of BJP Resign

Bargarh: Following Subash Chauhan, 9 Zilla Parishad members of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have resigned from the party allegedly over wrong candidate selection. Subash Chauhan, who had unsuccessfully contested the Bargarh LS seat in 2014 elections, had polled over 3, 72, 000 votes in 2014- the highest polled by any saffron party leaders in Odisha- […]

Show-Cause Notice To Sambit Patra

Puri: The Collector and District Election Officer of Puri served a show-cause notice to Sambit Patra, BJP’s Lok Sabha candidate from the constituency, for alleged violation of Model Code of Conduct. Sambit had on Monday (25 March) took out an election rally in Puri without obtaining necessary permission. Even Congress and BJD had alleged it […]

BJP Fields Sanat Gadtia From Bijepur

Bhubaneswar: Last night Bharatiya janata party (BJP) announced its candidate for Bijepur assembly constituency. Sanat Gadtia will contest from the seat. Sanat will fight against BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik. In four lists, as of now BJP has announced 132 MLA candidates and 5 MP candidates from Odisha.

Kharabela Swain Joins BJP

Bhubaneswar: Utkal Bharat party president Mahamegha Bahan Aira Kharabela Swain joined Bharatiya Janata party (BJP) today along with hundreds of his supporters. The former BJP parliamentarian made a comeback to the saffron party in presence of union minister Dharmendra Pradhan at BJP’s state headquarters in Bhubaneswar. The party will field him for Kandhamal Lok Sabha constituency. Kharabela told […]

Former Bureaucrat Panchanan Dash Joins BJP

Bhubaneswar: Retired bureaucrat Panchanan Dash, the former secretary of Odisha’s Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSMEs) department, joined Bharatiya janata party (BJP) today. Dash joined the saffron party in presence of union minister Dharmendra Pradhan, senior leader Biswa Bhushan Harichandan, Damodar Rout, Samir Dey and other senior party leaders at party’s state head office today […]

Prakash Mishra Joins BJP

Bhubaneswar: Former Odisha DGP Prakash Mishra joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) here today. BJP may field Mishra from Cuttack Lok Sabha seat in the upcoming polls. Mishra joined the saffron party in presence of union minister Dharmendra Pradhan, senior leader Biswa Bhushan Harichandan, Damodar Rout, Samir Dey and other senior party leaders at party’s state head […]

BJP May Field Prakash Mishra For Cuttack LS

Bhubaneswar: Former Odisha DGP Prakash Mishra will join BJP here today afternoon. Mishra may also contest the upcoming polls from Cuttack Lok Sabha seat. According to media reports, the retired IPS officer will be the second high-profile former bureaucrat to embrace the BJP after Aparajita Sarangi, whom the party has fielded from Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat. An […]

Odisha: Modi To Campaign On March 29 And April 1

Bhubaneswar: Star campaigner of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Prime Minister and Narendra Modi will visit Odisha twice in coming weeks to campaign for his party. The first-phase of Assembly and Lok Sabha polls in Odisha is scheduled on April 11. State BJP spokesperson Golak Mahapatra said that Prime Minister will visit Jeypore in Koraput district […]

Amiya Dash Denied Ticket, Supporters Lock Up BJP State Office

Bhubaneswar: Angry supporters of Amiya Dash locked up the entrance gate of the state BJP headquarters after he failed to secure ticket for Ekamra-Bhubaneswar assembly constituency here. Dash’s supporters also staged a dharna in front of the party office yesterday (on Holi) after his name was not mentioned in the list of candidates. The list of candidates was […]