Bhartruhari Mahtab First Odia to Receive Best Parliamentarian Award

Bhubaneswar: Senior Biju Janata Dal (BJD) leader and Cuttack MP Bhartruhari Mahtab received ‘Best Parliamentarian Award’ for 2017 from President of India Ram Nath Kovind in a special event held yesterday (Aug 1) at the Central Hall of Parliament.

Mahtab is the first Odia Parliamentarian to receive such prestigious honour.

The President presented the Outstanding Parliamentarian Awards to five MPs from 2013 to 2017 for their contributions to Parliament.

The other four MPs, who were honoured are former Rajya Sabha MP Dr Najma Heptulla, Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Lok Sabha MPs Dinesh Trivedi and Hukmdev Narayan Yadav.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan were also present on the occasion.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Somnath Chatterjee, Pranab Mukherjee, Dr. Manmohan Singh, Sushma Swaraj, P. Chidambaram, Murli Manohar Joshi and Arun Jaitley were also awarded with the best parliamentarian award in the past.



About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: