Sahitya Akademi Award 2018 to Prof Dasarathi Das

Bhubaneswar: Well-known educationist and Odia literary critic Prof Dasarathi Das is going to receive the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award for the year 2018 for his book Prasanga Puruna Bhabana Nua. This book is a collection of critical essays in Odia language. Dr. Das has written more than 10 books containing essays and critical analysis of works.

The award, carrying a copper citation, a shawl and a cash prize of 100,000 rupees will be given away in 2019. He has also received prestigious Sarala Award in 2007.

Professor Das’s famous books are Mrutyu Lokare Rutu Saptam, Kabyasambad, Kabisurya Kabyabibha, Aitihya O Adhunikata, Odia Sahitya Chinta, Bibidha Prastab, Bidagdha Manas, Sahitya Bibek and Adhunik Kabya Jijnyasa: Chitrakalpa etc.

Professor Gaganendra Nath Dash will be conferred with Sahitya Akademi Bhasha Samman for Odia language. Similarly Dr Prafulla Kumar Tripathy and poet Haladhar Nag will jointly receive Sahitya Akademi Bhasha Samman for Koshali Sambalpuri language.

However the awards in all categories for all Indian languages will be officially announced today afternoon at 3.30 PM in press conference at Rabindra Bhawan, Sahitya Akademi office in New Delhi.

Three Odias to Get Sahitya Akademi Bhasha Samman 2018



About the Author

Subhransu Panda
Subhransu Panda, founder and editor of, is an author and journalist. After working 10 years as a journalist in Odisha's leading media houses, both print and electronics, he started Odisha Story in 2016. He has 6 Odia books to his credit including 2 novels. He is also heading Odisha's leading publishing house PEN IN Books.