Modi elected BJP, NDA parliamentary party leader

New Delhi: Narendra Modi was elected the leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) parliamentary party at a function in Central Hall of Parliament today.

Veteran Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader and former Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal moved the resolution to elect Modi as the leader of the NDA parliamentary party.

The resolution was supported by Janata Dal-United (JD-U) President and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) chief Ram Vilas Paswan, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray and other leaders of the NDA.

After being elected leader of the NDA, Modi touched the feet of BJP veterans L.K. Advani, Murali Manohar Joshi and Parkash Singh Badal and sought their blessings.

Chief Ministers of various NDA-ruled states were present among others.

NDA will meet President Ramnath Kovind this evening to form government.


About the Author

Odisha Story Bureau
A team of young journalists headed by Subhransu Panda, founder-editor of Odisha's leading news portal and magazine Odisha Story. Mail: