Bijepur Assembly By Poll On October 21

Bhubaneswar: Election Commission of India on Saturday announced the schedule of Bijepur by-poll which was necessitated after BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik vacated the seat.
Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora addressing a press conference at New Delhi on Saturday said that notification for the by-polls will be issued on September 23 and counting of votes will take place on October 24.
Last date of nominations will be on September 30 followed by scrutiny on October 1. On October 3, the candidates will be allowed to withdraw their nomination.
Worth mentioning, Naveen Patnaik had contested polls from Bijepur and Hinjili in the recently concluded assembly polls. Patnaik won from both the seats and later resigned from Bijepur constituency