Odisha: 71.61% Turnout In 3rd Phase Polls

Bhubaneswar: The third phase elections in Odisha covering six Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly Constituencies passed of peacefully, though some stray incidents of attacks were reported from some places in Puri where an EVM was smashed. The final polling figures released by CEO Surendra Kumar reveals that around 71.61 per cent votes were polled across […]

Poll In Patkura On May 19

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission (EC) today announced the fresh poll schedule for Patkura Assembly constituency under Kendrapada Lok Sabha seat in Odisha. Patkura will vote on May 19 — the date for seventh and last phase of general elections in the country, in place of April 29. Polls in Patkura were postponed following the death of […]

BJD Worker Attacked In Dhenkanal

Dhenkanal: Another case of political violence surfaced in the state. A Biju Janata Dal worker was attacked today by a group of men in Ambapalas booth under Parjanga Assembly constituency in Dhenkanal district. The victim has been identified as Santosh Kumar Sahoo of Ramchandrapur lane in Ambapalas. According to sources, Santosh had a verbal duel with […]

On Duty Poll Official Dies In Odisha

Bhubaneswar: A polling official passed away while on duty in Dhenkanal district of Odisha today. Nabakishore Nayak collapsed inside booth number 41 in Kantapal village under the Parjang Assembly segment of Dhenkanal Lok Sabha constituency. He was declared dead by doctors at Kamakhyanagar hospital, said sources. Meanwhile, 47 per cent polling was recorded in the state […]

Odisha: 38 All Women Polling Personnel Booths In 3rd Phase

Bhubaneswar: The Election Commission has set up 38 all women polling personnel booths for third phase polls going to be held tomorrow in the state. Briefing media persons here today, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumdar said preparations for the third phase have reached the final stage and necessary steps have been taken to ensure free and […]

Odisha: 93 Lakh Voters To Decide Fate Of 417 Candidates Tomorrow

Bhubaneswar: Over 92.56 lakh voters will decide the fate of 417 candidates in the third phase of polls for six Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly seats in the state Tomorrow. Briefing media persons here today, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumdar said preparations for the third phase have reached the final stage and necessary steps have […]

Odisha Elections: Over 63,000 Persons Detained

Bhubaneswar: More than 63, 000 persons have been detained across Odisha till Sunday to ensure free and fair polls in the ongoing general elections in the state. According to sources, police have detained 63,340 persons under Section 106/116 of IPC from different places across the state to ensure smooth conduct of polls in Odisha. Similarly, a […]

Odisha: 72% Polling in Second Phase

Bhubaneswar: The just concluded second phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Odisha recorded a 72 per cent voter turnout, an official said today. Elections were held on Thursday for the Bargarh, Sundargarh, Bolangir, Kandhamal and Aska Lok Sabha seats, and 35 Assembly seats under these parliamentary constituencies. According to the office of the Chief Electoral […]

Odisha: IAS Officer Suspended For Checking PM Modi’s Chopper

Bhubaneswar: A Karnatak cadre IAS officer in Odisha was suspended by the Election Commission (EC) yesterday over allegedly checking Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s chopper in Sambalpur and violating protocol.  According to the Commission, Mohammed Mohsin, a 1996 batch IAS officer didn’t follow protocol for checking Special Protection Group (SPG) protectees.  As per the guidelines of […]

Odisha: Zero Polling in 6 Booths in Naxal-hit Malkangiri

Malkangiri: Odisha witnessed zero voter turnout due to intimidation from Naxals. Threats by Maoists have affected polling in 6 booths in Malkangiri district in Odisha. Not a single voter reportedly went to cast their votes in these booths. The first phase of voting held across 91 Lok Sabha constituencies in India ended on today. Voting for the […]