Patnagarh MLA Saroj Meher Arrested By Police In Sit-Up Case

Bolangir:The police today arrested Patnagarh MLA Saroj Meher for allegedly forcing a Public Works Department (PwD) engineer to do sit-ups. Later, he was taken to the Additional District Judge court (ADJ). On June 6, a video showing the BJD MLA forcing the JE to do sit-ups hundred times within five minutes had gone viral. He […]

Ex-MLA Gangadhar Pradhan No More

Rourkela: Odisha Legislative Assembly’s former member Gangadhar Pradhan died today at a private hospital here. He was a four times MLA, once from Sundargarh and thrice from Talsara assembly constituency. Pradhan was 90 years old and was admitted to the Community Welfare Society (CWS) Hospital at Jagda where he breathed his last. He was elected to the Odisha Legislative Assembly […]

Kendujhar: Former MLA Candidate Hacked To Death

Bhubaneswar: People in Anandapur block kept the local Dharakote market closed for second day in a row on today in demand for quick action against the murderers of Former Ghasipura Legislative Assembly Independent candidate Ramchandra Behera. Behera was hacked to death in cold blood on late Monday (25 March) night. He would have get a Congress […]

Odisha: BJP Announces 10 MP and 100 MLA Candidates

Bhubaneswar: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has released its first list of candidates for Odisha. The list has 10 names for Lok Sabha constituencies and 100 names for assembly constituencies. Senior party leader and Union health minister Jagat Prakash Nadda announced the list yesterday evening. Elections that will begin from April 11 and end on May […]

Anubhav Patnaik Speaks at PRS Conference 2018

New Delhi: Young Odia legislator Anubhav Patnaik joined PRS Conference 2018 as a panelist here. He spoke on ‘Building Effective Legislature’ yesterday afternoon. Speaking at the conference, Patnaik stressed on his difficulties to meet expectations of constituents as a first time MLA. He spoke about his initiatives that helped him balance the difficulties with his constitutional mandate. The […]

Congress MLA Krushna Sagaria to Quit Odisha Assembly

Bhubaneswar: Congress MLA Krushna Chandra Sagaria has decided to resign from Odisha Legislative Assembly citing failure to provide justice to Kunduli gang rape victim. The Koraput MLA Sagaria called a press conference today to announce his decision. He will hand over his resignation to the Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat in November first week. Addressing the media […]

Koraput MLA Demands Justice For Kunduli Victim in Delhi

By Odisha Story Bureau, New Delhi: Victim’s family joins Dharna on Parliament Street Congress Party launched a three-day dharna on Parliament Street in Delhi, demanding CBI inquiry for Kunduli rape and suicide case. A group of tribal people from Koraput including victim’s mother, younger brother, some other family members joined the protest in the national capital lead by Koraput MLA and chairman of […]

Bijepur MLA Takes Oath

By Odisha Story Bureau, Bhubaneswar: The recently elected legislator Rita Sahu from Bijepur constituency took oath as a member of the Odisha Legislative Assembly (OLA) today. She won the much hyped by-poll for the Bijepur seat held on 24th February 2018 following the death of Congress MLA Subal Sahu in August 2017. She was administered the oath […]